Posted in Travel

The Everyday

Today, I woke up and realized that I only have one full month left in Lancaster. And I kind of freaked out. It’s a bittersweet feeling. I’m so excited to get home and see everyone I love. But I also can’t help but savor each and every moment that I’m here. And the thought of saying goodbye to my English friends nearly breaks my heart. But, I didn’t start writing to make you sad, so I’ll get on with the update.

IMG_5065

 

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve updated my blog, as my last post was when I arrived home from Greece. Since then, I’ve made some of the best memories in my time so far, all in the midst of studying for exams in little Lancaster. So in the past two weeks I feel like my abs have hurt from non-stop laughter. I’ve been hanging out with (American) Victoria and her two flatmates, (English) Victoria and Catherine.  I’m so glad I’ve met these wonderful girls.

IMG_4928
American Mikaela, American Victoria, English Catherine, English Victoria

We’ve been going on walks, eating dinner, talking about Marvel movies, soaking up the rare sunny days, and just generally acting like children.

Last week, I had my first exam here at Lancaster. It was very different, because I literally just sat in a desk and wrote until my hand cramped up for two straight hours. I really have no idea how I did, but I did my best. I also am now halfway through my four week summer class on Biodiversity. It’s been relatively easy and the labs are pretty enjoyable! Of course, it’s always a day brightener to go play on a playground with my favorite people after a long day of revision, too!

Lancaster is known for having bright sunny days and then just suddenly getting a burst of rain, which can be confusing to plan a day around, but it also makes for some stunning rainbows when it’s raining while still sunny out. I snatched this picture on one of my walks last week!

IMG_5142 (1)

And here’s just some more photos of me doing life in Lancaster over the past two weeks. Not that it’s anything special, but it has been really special to me!

Considering that 80% of my time abroad has been spent in these little moments at Lancaster University, I thought it was about time to document the little moments that have put a smile on my face and made this experience such a life-changing and memorable time.

