Posted in Travel

Ireland Part Two

I really think I need to think about re-titling my blog something like, “The Chronicles of Mikaela’s Ruined Shoes” or something along those lines, because travelling around England and Ireland in the rainy weather has already trashed like three pairs of my shoes.

I just got a new pair of trainers before leaving on this trip and the bottom of them is already coming undone, because I’m terrible with footwear upkeep. But, I’m not going to bore you with complaining about my shoes, so instead, I’ll tell you where my shoes have been.

IMG_4216
Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge

I left off as I was travelling to Belfast, Northern Ireland. Well, now I’m on a train back to Dublin in order to catch my flight to Pisa, Italy tomorrow. I seriously love the Irish trains. They’re comfortable and they have Wifi access! Yay, 21st century public transport.

On Saturday, I got to Belfast in the late afternoon and did have some time to explore a bit. I walked around Queen’s University and some botanical gardens. I also walked to Victoria Mall, which has this really amazing view of the entire city.

IMG_4184

Sunday was the real reason I was up in Northern, Ireland, though. I had booked a tour to Giant’s Causeway with a few other stops along the way. First, we stopped at The Dark Hedges, which is featured in The Game of Thrones series. I’ve never seen it, but I guess they were still cool trees.

We then meandered on up to Carrick-a-Rede and I was just blown away by the views here. This area is about 19 miles away from Scotland and you can see the Scottish coast on a clear day. It was not a clear day, although, the weather wasn’t terrible.

They also have a rope bridge here, which I paid 6 pounds to cross. Still not sure it it was worth the money, but the views along this coast are just absolutely breathtaking, and that was priceless.

After the stop here, we went to the main event, a visit to Giant’s Causeway. Again, I could have spent hours upon hours just walking here. This was such a fun tour, as the audio guide was complete with both the geological and Irish legend version for why these cool stones were formed. Humorously enough, I only remember the Irish legend version.

IMG_4237

After this week of rainy, windy, and cold Irish weather, I am more than ready to get to Italy and Greece for the remainder of this break! Until next time, Ireland!

