Posted in Travel

Getting a taste of home

I can’t believe that as I write this, I’m already one week through my Easter Holiday. Currently, I’m back in Lancaster, taking a short break (less than 24 hours) before I head back into travel mode. So, I guess that now is as good of time as any to recap the past whirlwind of a week.

Last Sunday, I left for London and spent the afternoon and all day in Monday in the city. This was my first solo trip. It was a bit intimidating at first, but it ended up giving me a lot of confidence as well. It was also fun to be able to be solely dependent on how I wanted to spend my time and where I wanted to go.

After I arrived on Sunday, I spent some time figuring out the Underground and made my way to the pier just before sunset and managed to get some shots of the London Eye and Houses of Parliament.

On Monday, I got up early and walked to King’s Cross Station, which happened to be really close to the Hostel I stayed in. I got my classic Harry Potter photo at Platform 9 3/4 & then took the Underground to Hyde Park. I walked through this area and then through Green Park on my way to catch a free walking tour.

I really enjoyed the walking tour, as I got a lot of interesting facts about Big Ben (The Elizabeth Tower), Houses of Parliament, and Buckingham Palace. I really am a History Buff at heart, so I had a really good time hearing more about British History. To continue my learning, I visited The National Gallery, which is basically a huge museum with portraits of the British Royals over the years.  To round off my afternoon, I took a leisurely stroll along the River Thames before going back to my hostel.

IMG_3595 (2)

On Tuesday morning, I got up early to meet my mom, aunt, and cousin at the airport and we all then traveled to Paris together.

IMG_3611

While we still had full energy, we decided to walk to the Eiffel Tower on this first day in Paris. It was just as breathtaking as I had imagined and it was so cool, seeing such an iconic site.

One of my favorite parts about our stay in Paris was that we stayed in an Air bnb in a very residential area, so it truly felt like we were getting a local’s experience of the city. On our second day, we visited the Sainte Chaipelle Cathedral, The Louvre,  a chocolate museum, and ended our day with a river cruise on The Seine. This time around, we got to see the Eiffel Tower lit up at night, which was also really cool to see. It was lit up black, yellow, and red to pay respects to those who died and were injured in the Belgium attacks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, we ended our day with some fantastic Parisian food. We had some wonderful fondue-all though, I think we ordered too much!

IMG_3696

By day 3 in Paris, we were pretty tuckered out, but we managed to see the Notre Dame Cathedral towers (we were third in the que in the morning), go on a wine tour, and go up to the Arc de Triomph.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Friday, we changed locations and travelled to London in the morning. We had a beautiful afternoon when we landed, as it was nice and sunny. Once we got settled in at our hotel, we went to visit the Tower of London and see Tower Bridge.

For Saturday morning, we had booked a tour of Stonehenge and Bath, so we got up early again to go visit these sites. We first stopped at Stonehenge. It was really awesome to see this site, as it is listed as one of the Wonders of the World. It was really cold and rainy, but the site itself was worth the bad England weather. To complete our day trip, we went to Bath to see the Roman Baths and get some Cream Tea.

On Sunday, I took momma and my aunt and cousin on the same free walking tour, but we had a different guide, so it was completely different information, so I still really enjoyed it. I got one of the classic phone booth pictures in our tour guide’s proclaimed “best photo op in London”

 

After our walking tour, we got an Afternoon Tea at the Double Tree Hilton Hotel and then went to see Kensington Palace.

We ended our Easter Holiday by going to Easter Services in Westminster Abbey.

Overall,  this was such a great week, and the best part being I got to spend it with my mom!

 

