Posted in Travel

Weekend in Edinburgh

I wanted to try something new this time. I found a really great way to share my travels in story form. So, if you are a visual learner, I highly recommend you check out the short photo story I created. View the Photo Story HERE.

If you’re more into my ranting, continue reading 🙂

So, last weekend (January 22-24), my friend Ellie & I traveled to Edinburgh, Scotland for our first full weekend trip, complete with hostel accommodation and everything. We took the train from Lancaster on Friday night and ended up in Edinburgh around 10:30 pm. We checked into our hostel and then just wandered around the city for a bit.

We started off the day on Saturday  by hiking to Calton Hill for an amazing view of the city and to get some great photos.

From our view up here, we spotted a beautiful Abbey & proceeded to wander in search of it. What we found, was indeed an Abbey, and the palace where Mary, Queen of Scots, lived.  We took a tour of this incredible palace, complete with an audio tour of the history of the palace. It is still actually visited by the Queen once a year, as well!

After we toured the palace, we decided to hike to Arthur’s Seat to get another great view of the city. It was a steep, uphill climb, but the view was absolutely breathtaking and completely surreal.

arthurs seat

After our long hike and over 10,000 steps into the day, we were both starving, so we found a local pub and found that it was due time for some comforting British food! (Bring on Bangers & Mash)

After lunch, we went on an amazing free walking tour of the town. It was amazing! I recommend it to anyone who ever goes! We learned so many random and fun little facts about Edinburgh. For example, we saw this cafe, called The Elephant House. It is where J.K. Rowling apparently spent a lot of time, writing the Harry Potter series.

After our walking tour, we went back to relax for a bit and then got dinner at a taco place. (We have been craving Mexican food-it is NOT readily available here Send me tortilla chips, anyone??) 🙂 🙂

By Sunday morning, we were pretty tired after walking over 30,000 steps in one day, but we managed to have a more relaxing day in the city, complete with tea & macaroons in a quaint little tea shop and some fun shopping.

 

As fun as this was, I definitely missed my friends and family over the weekend, I think because it was over my birthday. However, I am so thankful that God has allowed me to be able to travel during this time in my life.

2 thoughts on “Weekend in Edinburgh

  1. What a wonderful experience you are having. We too missed being able to celebrate your birthday with you. But really how are we to compete with the experience you are getting.
    Love as always
    Gram

  2. Like Gram say you are having a wonderful experience. Love reading and looking at your pictures.
    Stay safe and have fun!

Leave a Reply

