Posted in Travel

This whole travel thing though

Well today was quite the day. It was a day of anxiousness, excitement, and wonder. And it has been a long day (so far).

My day started at 3 am in Princeville, Illinois. I woke up after getting only about 2 hours of sleep (because I can’t sleep when I’m anxious about something). However, I think I just ran on adrenaline all day, so it ended up being fine. My wonderful parents drove me up to O’Hare to catch my flight at 8:55 am. Our plane ended up departing a tad bit late, due to ice on the wings. Definitely glad they scraped that off.

The next 8 hours were a bit of a blur. As we departed, I could see the beautiful snowy Chicago-land and I thought to myself, “I won’t be on American soil for almost six months.” It’s crazy, but I’m definitely excited. The plane ride was definitely not as bad as I had thought it would be. I got to see two new movies and watch one of my old favorites. (I definitely recommend seeing the new Annie movie if you haven’t). My seat partner probably thought I was nuts when I would start giggling to myself in the middle of it. Oh, well. I also experienced two airplane meals. Let me tell ya, you’re not missing ANYTHING. From rubbery eggs to rubbery ham, it was definitely forgettable.

When we landed, things started to get a little interesting. You see, we came in at about 10:30 pm London time. And the thing is, I have a 7 am flight to catch for Manchester tomorrow. But, by the time we got off the plane, all of the regular shuttle buses were closed. Therefore, in the empty Heathrow airport, I wandered around asking people for Terminal 5. I got pointed in several different directions, before I found out that I had to go through the U.K. border security, find the Heathrow Express metro, and re-enter at the entry to the airport. I was scared to death. Thankfully, I made acquaintances with two Italian students around my age and we set out to navigate this together. I honestly don’t think I could have figured it out by myself. So after we got through security and found the metro, it turns out that the next train didn’t arrive for 30 minutes. However, it was worth the wait. Because that metro looked like something off of the Hunger Games. It was slick and modern and beautiful and got me to the airport entrance.

And now here I sit, waiting for the morning so I can check in and go back through security for my connecting flight.  I honestly don’t know when I’ll sleep next, because these airport benches are none too comfy. Tomorrow, I will arrive in Manchester, get shuttled to my University, and get settled into my room.

As for now, I don’t have a phone plan set up. My phone is on airplane mode with Wifi enabled. This means that I can iMessage people with iPhones, and I am also available via Facebook Messenger, GroupMe, or Snapchat.

 

