Posted in Travel

It’s getting real.

This week has been quite the week of preparations for study abroad. I attended two orientation meetings and bought my plane tickets!

On Tuesday, I went to a workshop that was all about Foreign Travel 101. It was basically about how to make the most of your study abroad experience from a monetary and personal standpoint. He gave us great tips on affordable travel, but he also gave some really good tips on how to prepare mentally to get the most out of this experience. It was pretty awesome and gave me a new perspective going into traveling.

On Wednesday, I bought my plane tickets! This was a somewhat frightening experience, because it made everything seem really real. Like, this is actually happening in 45 days! I’ll be flying out of Chicago at 9 am on January 4th & after a layover in London, I will arrive at Manchester airport on the morning of the 5th. (Manchester is about an hour away from Lancaster)

On Thursday, I had an orientation meeting with all of the Purdue students who will be traveling to the UK next semester. There are several who will be in the UK and three other girls will be joining me at Lancaster. We got to talk with exchange students from England who are studying here this semester as well as hear from Purdue students who studied there last spring. It was really awesome to hear from students’ perspectives about what to expect.

All in all, it was a stressful but amazing week and I am left feeling really excited to begin this journey.

 

